Edinburgh Festival Camping 2015

File 03-09-15 3 34 21 amCamping at a festival is like becoming a part of a colorful village that only exists for a few days. It’s where friendships are made and adventures begin, where everyone is ready to have a good time. The Fringe is the world’s largest art festival held in Edinburgh every year in the month of August. It goes on for good 25 days and you can choose from one of the many camping venues. This year I preferred to stay in a camp site managed by camping ninja. It was at Royal Highland Centre, Ingliston.
Photo 27-08-15 10 14 36 pmThe camping ground was clean and well maintained. I was carrying my own tent so I picked up a standard pitch close by a lake. Other camping options were also available. A separate ground for people camping in their caravans was at a walking distance from the main entrance. A mini kitchen, toilets, shower rooms, cafeteria, and a charging station was also there.

It took me just few minutes to setup my tent and I was already thinking ahead of time about what to do next. Thinking about camping has a stress relieving effect on me. Camping means staying outdoors, close to nature, which never fails to make me happy. Campers on the whole are very friendly. I take great pleasure in having random chats, and sharing some stories I have.

I think I like the feeling of being connected.

Camping festivals always seem to be their own little alternative places where saying things like “join me for a drink” or “let’s go for a walk later” are totally common. Another best thing about festival camping is that curfews are non-existent, parties last all night, and nobody is judged.

Photo 27-08-15 8 36 37 pm DSC00968

If you’re attending the festival and want to feel the true camping spirit, stop by a retail store to grab a sleeping bag. It’s a must have. I love wriggling inside my sleeping bag, in my tent and look up at the stars; luckily this time while I was camping it was a full moon night. It just enhanced the panoramic view of the entire place.

A camping experience can be either the best few days of your life or a frustrating hassle depending on the campground’s location and weather. My advice to you all is to plan well & book in advance.

Exploring and finding joy in the natural world is something I’ll never grow out of so people who would like to join me for the next festival camping session can pre register by following the link.

http://www.campingninja.com/

Hope to see you there!

Leave a comment